Chapter 2

Chapter 2 [Let’s Travel Together!]

Bryner extends his hand towards the girl to offer a sign of friendship.

The man quickly grasps the sword on around his waist as if to draw. He stares viciously at Bryner. Sweat starts running down the sides of Bryner’s face. The Girl looks seriously into Bryner’s eyes; she does not extend her arm.

Neneth: You appear to be mistaken; I don’t plan on associating with you.

Bryner seems slightly annoyed by the girls reply.

Bryner: but the journey to the capital is more than 2 nights away. Surely it would be boring and awkward if we remained apathetic towards each other for the whole journey.

Neneth: I do not mind.

I feel a calm storm brewing under Bryner’s forced smile. He seems to be emitting hostility with his every word.

Bryner: How can we learn to trust each other if we know nothing about each other?

Neneth: I have no intention of trusting you.

Bryner: Why are you so hesitant to trust me?

Neneth: Trusting you would be as foolish as trusting an untrained dog not to bite.

Bryner’s false smile breaks off; He has clearly lost his cool. It seems these two are really not very compatible. He clenches his fist and stands up as if to burst out into a fury. But before he could take one step forward towards the girl the man had drawn his sword and has rested it in front of Bryner’s neck.

Bryner: …

Celegnir: Your seat grows cold.

Bryner: Humph…

Bryner returns to his seat. He crosses his arms and legs and looks down towards the floor whilst scowling.

Bryner: Driver, Make haste! The less time with these arrogant people the better!

The cart stops.

Bryner: Honestly what a bad time for a pit stop.

Celegnir: no there’s more to it. The driver is required to inform us of any pit stops he intends to make in advance. Not only that I can smell faint signs of blood…

The room falls silent. Bryner and the girl’s expression instantly changes to one of unease and fear. They both take a deep gulp.

Celegnir: I will go outside and take a quick look, be prepared to run if I give the signal.

The girl nods shyly at the man. The man stands up but the girl has hold of his cloak. The man puts his hand on her head and crouches down to match the girl’s height.

Celegnir: Don’t worry Neneth, I will be fine. I’m a C rank warrior, the worst it could be is a gang of thieves. If that’s the case I can handle myself without worry.

Neneth: Celegnir be careful.

Neneth lets go of the cloak. Celegnir walks out of the carriage with sword drawn and in hand.

Bryner tried to reassure Neneth.

Bryner: If he’s a C rank warrior then I’m sure there’s nothing to worry about.

Neneth seems unconvinced.

Neneth: But what if it’s a monster.

Bryner: That’s fine in the kingdom there are no monster’s above D rank, he should be fine.

Neneth seems to be reassured by that fact. She nods her head and shyly begins to wait for Celegnir to return. However as she becomes reassured I could see Bryner start becoming uneasy. Perhaps he just remembered the rumour about that C rank monster. He looks down anxious for Celegnir to return.

A loud Cry is heard from outside.

Celegnir: Ahh!

We all rush outside the carriage.

Celegnir: Princess Run!

When we get outside we see a giant hound standing over Celegnir with his arm being bitten by the Giant Hounds sharp teeth. It doesn’t look good. I use chantless magic to put a protection barrier on him.

Neneth: Celegnir!

Neneth charges towards Celegnir.

Wait a minute I thought I read that Giant Hounds always came in pairs. Shit I realised too late I turn around and find a giant hound charging towards us at top speed.

Malvazar: behind us!

I jump out the way just in time, but that’s not important. Neneth couldn’t hear me.

I cast a chantless slow spell on the second hound. Bryner dives grabbing Neneth and escaping the hounds attack.

If it wasn’t for my slow spell both Bryner and Neneth wouldn’t have escaped. That was a close one.

But it’s just about to reach Celegnir, I can’t see clearly in this position since the hound’s body is obscuring my view. I cast vine (using chantless magic like all my spells since it’s faster).

I close my eye’s dreading to think what became of Celegnir, when I open them a moment later I see the corpses of both giant hounds beside him. He is covered in their blood.

On closer look it appears he has pointed ears. Is he perhaps an elf?

Neneth: Celegnir!

Neneth runs over to him whilst crying and dives into his arms hugging him. I and Bryner walk over to him

Neneth: I was ss-s-so w-wor-worried. I thought you were going to die! How did you survive!?

Celegnir looks towards me.

Celegnir: it appears luck was on my side.

Malvazar: it appears so.

From the blood stains it seems the Driver and the horses have already been eaten by the hounds. Really it’s unsettling to imagine, Looks like we will have to travel by foot.

Bryner: It’s too early to celebrate now. We have to treat that wound fast otherwise he could still die yet!

Celegnir: its ok Elves are born with the magic selfheal. The wound should be sealed off soon.

Bryner: if you say so…

Celegnir places Neneth down on to the ground facing Bryner. Neneth has her hands beside her as she looks down.

Celegnir: I believe you have something to say to him.

Neneth: thank you for saving me.

Bryner: Ha All in a day’s work. I’m a hero in the making, right Malvazar?

Malvazar: I guess so.

He’s probably talking about how he saved me yesterday.

Celegnir: never the less I am in your debt

Bryner: what are two elves doing in the Kingdom anyway?

That’s right I hadn’t seen any elves thus far. The books talked about them being quite the secluded race. They had scarce information about the elves. There was some documentation about the elf lord Artphen and his longevity but aside from that, much of elven culture remained a mystery.

Celegnir: We come from Lakewood forest.

Bryner: Lakewood forest!? That’s past the Grynhulp Mountains!

Bryner: what brings you to the capital?

Celegnir: It was decided that Princess Neneth would attend the Magus Academy.

Neneth: it’s to help improve Elf-Human relations.

Bryner: What a coincidence! Malvazar and I also plan to attend the Magus Academy!

Neneth: You know magic!?

Bryner: But of course! I know the first tier fire spell heat hands.

Neneth: Fire magic?

Celegnir and Neneth are taken aback a bit. Perhaps fire magic was not looked upon fondly in elven society. Bryner continues to gloat. Neneth and Celegnir politely feed his pride while he talks.

It’s been a few hours while walking down the road it’s mid-afternoon. You can see the elven princess is fatigued and both elves are starting to grow tired of Bryner’s boasting.

Bryner: -and that’s how I aim to become the greatest fire wizard ever! Hahahaha!

Neneth: But doesn’t he only know one fire spell? (She Whispers under her breath)

Bryner: what was that?

Neneth: just that it’s incredible that you know fire magic.

She hides her real impressions from him. Her impressions of Bryner seemed high after the Monster incident; perhaps his persistent boasting has caused her opinion of him to decrease a bit.

Bryner: But of course it’s incredible!  You know I managed to learn heat hands in a mere 3 years!

Celegnir: it is true that it took 4 years for the princess to learn the first tier water spell Droplet, however her second first tier water spell Control Water took her a mere 2 years.

Bryner: Neneth you know water magic! And two spells!?

Malvazar: she did mention it…

He must have been too busy boasting about his heat hands to notice it. Never realised how prideful Bryner was, perhaps he didn’t boast so much to me because he knew I also knew heat hands?

Bryner: Wait she must’ve been learning magic for at least 6 years how old was she again?

Celegnir: she is the same age as you 16.

Bryner: What 16!? No matter how you look she can’t be older than 12!

Neneth: Elves age slower than humans do.

Malvazar: I think she did mention it…

Bryner is quite bewildered on the discovery of Neneth’s age. I don’t know why I mean according to the books the elven lord is said to guard the fountain of youth. That’s why elven lords are around for thousands of years. Elves were originally humans but because of their long exposure to the fountains power and spiritual enlightenment they began to change over time. The elven lord Artphen’s father was speculated to originally have been human. At least that is what was documented.

Bryner: That’s crazy! Wait does that mean…

Bryner looks towards Celegnir expectantly.

Celegnir: I am 100 years old as of last year.

Bryner: Wow to think he was such an old fogey.

Celegnir seems to have become slightly depressed with such a comment. Seems he’s quite fragile when it comes to comments about his age. Though in elven society, he should not be considered as old. Perhaps he is having his midlife crisis early.

Neneth: that’s rude, He’s not old!

Celegnir’s eyes seem to brighten when listening to Neneth’s words

Neneth: He’s just a little past his prime that’s all!

Celegnir: (sigh)

Celegnir’s eyes darken as he seems to have fallen into a deeper depression.

Neneth notices that her attempt in cheering Celegnir up has failed so tries to persevere.

Neneth: I didn’t mean that in a bad way! I mean 80 years is said to be the prime, but for those that have a healthy and fit lifestyle it’s said to be extended to 100.

Celegnir starts to look a little better.

Neneth: though you could say that from here you’re only going to depreciate I don’t think that’s a problem at all!

Neneth I know you’re trying to help lessen Celegnir’s complex but your words are having the opposite effect…

It seems Celegnir has reverted to a depressed expression again.

Malvazar: Perhaps it would be wise to change the topic. (Whispering to Neneth)

Neneth: oh that’s a good idea. (Whisper’s back)

Neneth: I’m sure Fengwen will be happy to hear how brave you were when fighting those Giant Hounds.

Celegnir’s depressed face instantly lit up, his face became red with embarrassment. He seems to be shifting his eyes nervously.

Bryner gives a cheeky smile, seems he intends to press this topic further.

Bryner: so even the serious Celegnir has a lady back home waiting for him then.

Celegnir looks off far into the distance.

Celegnir: yeah but there’s no way she could feel the same for me.

Celegnir: She’s a beautiful princess in the prime of her life; she probably has a line of suitors a mile long that’s more eligible than me.

Celegnir: She even sent me away to guard Neneth, I’m sure it’s because she regards my company a nuisance.

He seems to have become depressed again. He sure seems to depress himself easily. Neneth seems slightly angry at him

Neneth: That is simply not true!

Neneth: Her sending you to guard me only shows how much faith she puts in you!

Celegnir: you think so?

Neneth: I am certain of this fact.

Celegnir seems to have become a lot happier after listening to Neneth’s words.

Bryner: it’ll be night soon I propose we make camp in that cave.

Bryner points towards a cave just visible amongst the trees.

Celegnir looks towards Bryner. Even though it’s getting dark normally you would wait a bit longer before making arrangements to camp. Celegnir shifts his gaze to Neneth; she is clearly exhausted from all this traveling. I guess she is an elf princess after all.

Celegnir: I agree it would be good to make camp while we have the light of day.

Malvazar: Agreed

Chapter 2

Leave a comment